R1 on first and R3 on third with no outs and a tied game. B1 swings and grounds into a 4-6-3 Double Play and R3 scores. Then the HP umpire rules catcher interference. The coach comes out and is told he has a choice. He may take the result of the play ( 2 outs and 1 run scores) OR He can take the interference and have bases loaded, no run scores. Is this the correct ruling options for the coach to choose from? What’s the Call?

Ruling: 8-1-1e

Catcher’s interference is considered a delayed dead ball situation, If a play follows the interference, the umpire will allow the play to continue, as the offended team’s manager can choose to decline the interference and accept the result of the play, in which case the play stands without reference to the interference.

If the interference is accepted, the batter is awarded first base without liability to be put out, and the base-runners may advance only if forced. Which means the runner from third must return to 3rd base in this play. The catcher is charged with an error, however, the batter is not considered to have reached on an error, and is not charged with a time at bat.